This the continuation of a series of blogs about our kids.  Ripha interviews them and writes their story in their own words

Hello

I am Estephania, I am 17 years old. I am living with my mother and my sister Sandra. She is 16 years old. We went to the same school and we are in the same class. We help each other with homework. There are 6 people in my family. My mother, Sandra, 3 brothers and I. Our house has 2 rooms, We are living in 1 room and we share the other one with my Aunt’s family (My mother’s sister).  My brothers are living with our grandmother who is a farmer. Our father died when I was 1 year old while my mother was pregnant with Sandra.

Our life is not easy because mother has anemia and she stays in bed most of the time. I do laundry for the whole house. Sandra does dishes everyday before and after class. I clean the house and cook. I also do my hair, Sandra’s hair and some kids in the neighborhood hair for school.

We go to church every Sunday with our mother. Last week my mother, my sister and I have planted black beans and corn. When the beans and the corn will be ready we will share them with friends and neighbors,  and keep the rest for us. On vacation we went to grandmother’s house to help her make the garden with our brothers.

Sandra and I went out to get water to drink to do dishes, laundry and cook. We do not have electricity at home so we use a light we charge at the Leve Project house. We study everyday after class.  Our house is not comfortable when it’s raining water comes inside and also in the kitchen so we can’t cook.

By this time because of the rain there is mud everywhere on the street. On our way to school we wear flip flops so our shoes don’t get dirty. We bring water so we can clean our feet before putting shoes on for class and we take it off right after class to go home

We like coming to Leve Project because we always learning about Jesus doing crafts and how to live with everyone and also help one another. I am grateful and my family also for everything you have done in our life.

May GOD bless you and your family,

Estephania and Sandra

Our home

Inside of our kitchen

Our kitchen

Our mom is sick very often, and it is very hot in the house, so she sleeps outside.

daz1_orig
Ripha George

Ripha George

Leve Project Director of Child Services

Dazimillah Update

My name is Dazimillah Deronette.  I’m 12 years old. I live with my father, my stepmother, one brother and one sister. I go to Deraka Elementary school. I am in 6th grade. My favorite color is green and my favorite subjects are Math and kreol(Our language).

In my family we are 5 people. I am the oldest kid. My mother comes to visit us very often. I don’t have a lot of friends, those I have are classmates and also my brother Job. I go to church sometimes.
Everyday, before I go to school ,I do dishes and also at night after dinner. I always do my homework right after class just in case there is no electricity. I go out to get water when it’s over.  We use it for cooking, to drink and laundry.

My school is not far from my house, but it is not easy to go when its raining. We have to wait for the rain to stop, and when it does we can leave home for school because we walk there.
Sometimes our shoes get wet because there is water everywhere on the street, and sometimes we fall in the water while trying to jump on the rocks.

I like going to Leve Project / Soledha every Saturday because I am learning about Jesus, spending time with the other kids and sharing a meal. Before I go ,I do my laundry and also my brother Job’s  laundry, especially our uniforms. That the reason why I am late most the time.
I am very thankful for all your help and so is my family.

Dazimillah

Stay in Touch

Be sure to keep up with events and happenings by subscribing to our newsletter.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email